News Stories

The Story of the 13 Point Fold

Do you know the whole story about each fold of the American flag?

Every time honor guards fold an American Flag; it’s is a symbolic moment.

It takes 13 folds to complete. And Veterans who served in the Armed Forces have a list of its meaning.

1st fold – is a symbol of life.

2nd fold – is a symbol of the belief in eternal life.

3rd fold – to remember veterans who served in the United States armed forces

4th fold – American citizens trusting in God in times of peace and in times of war.

5th fold – a tribute to the United States

6th fold – symbolize the Pledge of Allegiance

7th fold – a tribute to the Armed Forces

8th fold – a tribute to the one who entered into the valley of the shadow of death, that we might see the light of day.

9th fold – a tribute to womanhood, and mothers

10th fold – a tribute to the fathers

11th fold – represents the lower portion of the seal of King David and King Soloman

12th fold – represents the holy trinity

13th fold – the Nation’s motto, ‘In God We Trust.’

For a full description of each fold, please visit the American Legion website .