Over the weekend, a Californian woman called police on an eight-year-old girl for selling water outside of her apartment building.
The woman accused the little girl of illegally selling the water because she didn’t have a food permit. A video of the interaction went viral, and the internet dubbed the woman, “Permit Patty.”
This isn’t the first time something like this has happened, lemonade stands around the country are getting shut down for not having proper permits.
Florida law makes it pretty easy to sell goods without an inspection or license, but you can only sell items on the State’s approved list – and lemonade is not included.
Florida’s Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services recommends getting a food permit before selling any type of good. The FDA said it’s safer for consumers if a business is licensed by the government, that way proper health standards are in place.
The cost of a permit varies, if you get it at the beginning of the year, it ’ll cost you about $200. But if you get it after July 1st, the price goes down to about $130.
But if you decide to throw caution to the wind and sell your lemonade unpermitted and you get fined – you can get help.
Country Time Lemonade created a team to help pay fines and permits for kids called Legal-Ade.
Country Time covers fees and permits costs up to $300 which will help keep lemonade stands running all summer long.
Additional reporting by Jalyn Henderson